Friday Random Top 10 – September 11th

In the coming days, once I’m done with final edits, you’ll see a box on the right where you’ll be able to download and read my dissertation chapters.  I don’t really want to put it out there yet since it could in theory get me in trouble if you all make suggestions, since that could be construed as outside help.   I know that’s a little paranoid, but 12 months and a ton of money is too much to risk to not finish this.  Anyway, things are progressing on that front, now to the music:

  1. Kings of Leon – “I Want You” Only by the Night
  2. Wilco – “Blue Eyed Soul” A.M.
  3. John Mayer – “I Gonna Find Another You” Continuum
  4. Wilco – “Poor Places” Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
  5. Interpol – “Evil” Antics
  6. Tyree Colion – “Projects” The Wire Soundtrack
  7. The Ramones – “Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment” Ramones Mania
  8. Jack Johnson – “Staple It Together” In Between Dreams
  9. Wilco – “Hotel Arizona” Being There
  10. Lenny Kravitz – “Stand By My Woman” Greatest Hits
  11. Johnny Cash – “Mercy Seat” American Recordings

Bonus: Wilco – “New Madrid” Live at The Troubadour 11-12-96

You may ask why Mr. Kravitz is crossed out above.  It’s because his album stayed in my library for about 20 more seconds after that song came up.  It’s one of those albums I don’t like anymore, but still have because I’m a neurotic packrat.  But no more!  Here comes the great iTunes purge of 2009!

On a happier note – three Wilco songs, all from different albums plus Wilco doing Uncle Tupelo.  I never include a bonus track, but this one seemed too good to pass up.  4 Wilco songs in 11 (ok, 12) songs, that’s a full 1/3rd.

I’ve always heard that if you like Interpol that you should check out Joy Division.  Any of my more musically aware colleagues know the veracity of this statement?

One more thing – The Blueprint 3 comes out today, at least in the States anyway.  Below is Jay-Z on Letterman plugging his new album, which will be one my first purchases when I get home.  They are actually very quite funny together, good family fun.

12 responses to “Friday Random Top 10 – September 11th

  1. “well, people started calling me it.” Classic.

    # Kyuss – El Rodeo – And the Circus Leaves Town
    # Led Zeppelin – In the Evening – In Through the Out Door
    # Counting Crows – A Murder of One – August and Everything After
    # (Hed) P.E. – Swan Dive – Broke
    # Coil – The Golden Section – Horse Rotorvator
    # System of a Down – Spiders – (self-titled)
    # Black Sabbath – War Pigs – Paranoid
    # Foo Fighters – Learn to Fly – There is Nothing Left to Lose
    # Mastodon – Hunters of the Sky – Blood Mountain
    # REM – Texarkana – Out of Time

  2. Everthing is on your schedule. That group Foo whatever was on Austin City limits last Sunday. Write well write often your almost done

  3. An FYI, you can download Jay-Z’s album for $4 from Amazon (today and possibly tomorrow)

  4. congrats on the purge; I’ve only just started clearing out tracks that I don’t care for. I’m such a completist that it seems wrong not to carry every track from a CD I own – no more, though.

    “Destiny” – Eric Woolfson, Freudiana
    “1988 (Robert Fripp)” – Various Artists, Angels in the Architecture
    “San Francisco 1906 (Excerpts)” – Synergy, The Jupiter Menace soundtrack
    “The Floater” – Henry Mancini, The Music from Peter Gunn
    “Never Ending Story” – Klaus Doldinger & Georgio Moroder, The Never Ending Story soundtrack
    “Pipeline” – Alan Parsons Project, Ammonia Avenue
    “Why Does the Sun Shine?” – They Might Be Giants, Severe Tire Damage
    “America (bonus track – single)” – Yes, Close to the Edge
    “Relay Breakdown” – Synergy, Electronic Realisations for an Electronic Orchestra
    “A Miner” – Joe Hisaishi, Laputa: The Castle in the Sky soundtrack (Image Album)

    regarding #3 & #9: we were big Synergy fans in college (still am); Synergy is Larry Fast, electronic keyboard pioneer. If you haven’t heard him as Synergy, you might have heard him playing keyboards on Peter Gabriel’s early albums & tours. His first LP Electronic Realisations is brilliant.

    • I have Nickleback tracks on my iTunes because they are on movie soundtracks and I can’t stand to have an incomplete album. But as you said – NO MORE! We must forge on.

  5. I recently deleted the Shins Wincing the Night Away because that album sucked!

    1. Look What You’ve Done for Me – Al Green
    2. The Passion – Billy Bragg
    3. I’m Bound for the Promised Land – Johnny Cash
    4. Standing in the Doorway – Bob Dylan
    5. Dog Treat – Tom Waits
    6. Good Night – The Beatles
    7. Ever Fallen in Love? – The Buzzcocks
    8. Dog Door – Tom Waits
    9. Sunday Sun – Beck
    10. Sleep! – Big Black

    Bonus: Hell is Chrome – Wilco

    • ..yet I see the Beatles made the cut.

      • Great, I write one post that I’m sick of the Beatles hype and am not going to pay $200 for albums I already bought twice and now I’m known as a “Beatles Hater” on the interwebs.

        • You suck, maaaan. 😉

          Damon and Naomi “Judah and the Maccabees” With Ghost
          The Pixies “Where Is My Mind?” Surfer Rosa
          David Bowie “Kooks” Hunky Dory
          Blonde Redhead “Astro Boy” Blonde Redhead
          St. Vincent “All Things Change” Actor
          Beck “Lost Cause” Sea Change
          The Zombies “Imagine The Swan” Collection 64-69
          Yo La Tengo “Watch Out For Me Ronnie” I’m Not Afraid of You and I Will Beat Your Ass
          Deerhoof “Look Away” Friend Opportunity
          Beach House “House on the Hill” Beach House
          bonus song: Pavement “Loretta’s Scars” Slanted and Enchanted

Leave a Reply

