Music Video Sunday – Wilco “Heavy Metal Drummer”

I’ve decided to start a new series here.  Every Sunday I’m going to post a music video of one of my favorite songs.  We’re kicking it off with Wilco’s “Heavy Metal Drummer”.This song comes from the first Wilco album I ever had, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.  Now that I’ve gone back and listened to all their earlier albums, I find myself liking YHF less than before.  I always thought it was a little heavy on the electronic filler noise.  But “Heavy Metal Drummer” just may be my favorite Wilco song.  The drum line is extremely catchy.  The lyrics are wistful and nostalgic, without being overly schmaltzy or sappy.  Jeff Tweedy sings these lyrics with just the right hint of of sadness for missing the way things used to be in his voice.

This clip comes from the documentary I Am Trying to Break Your Heart which covers the band as they make and perform Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.  I’ve not actually seen the movie, but it’s on my list of things to see.

5 responses to “Music Video Sunday – Wilco “Heavy Metal Drummer”

  1. What an idea. Will look forward to all your tunes

  2. I haven’t heard much of Wilco yet, but that documentary seems intriguing and the video wasn’t half bad. Time to log onto amazon I guess. Any top songs I should consider?

    P.S. the Notify me of followup comments via email is showing up twice below. Bug perhaps?

  3. Yeah, I get “You are the author of this post” twice by my comment box. But I’m using a free template, so I can’t complain too much.

    As for Wilco, I really liked their latest album “Sky Blue Sky”. My least favorite is “A Ghost is Born”. But really, anything they do is pretty much a good choice.

  4. Pingback: Music Video Sunday - Foo Fighters buffet « Andrew In Ireland

  5. Pingback: Friday Random Top 10 - February 13th « Andrew In Ireland

Leave a comment